Game of Thrones Book Tag

Hey guys! I’m sorry for the delay, but I’m finally back from a crazy bachelorette weekend in New Orleans! The pros? We survived **praise hands** The cons? No reading time…womp womp…

Anyways, after landing at 7 p.m. last night, I was greeted at the airport by my hubby and puppers – both of whom I hadn’t seen all weekend so that was definitely a treat! We grabbed some comfort food on the way home and quickly settled down – like millions of other people – for our favorite addiction: GAME OF THRONES!

As I’m sure many of you know season 7 premiered last night and as much as I want to rant and rave about my thoughts – #TheNorthRemembers – that’s NOT what this post is about.

This post is devoted to a really cool post I saw this morning on Thrice Read that combined my love of reading with my love of GoT. Originated on Biblionyan’s blog, I bring you the Game of Thrones Book Tag.

How it works? Each question is based off the House Words from seven different houses – a mix of pre and post conquest houses – that occupy Westeros. For example, for House Stark their words (read: motto) is “Winter is Coming,” so the question will be inspired by those words. Still confused? Just move on to the question portion! =D

HOUSE LANNISTER: “HEAR ME ROAR!” – Name a book that you originally loved, but upon a re-read realized that it wasn’t so great after all.

Honestly, I’d have to say the Twilight series. I’m open about my predilection for all things vampire, so reading these made sense. But I didn’t just read these y’all. I was obsessed. No shame in my game I let the world know I was #TeamEdward. And while I don’t regret my time in Forks, upon re-reading these, I no longer feel that irrevocable love.

HOUSE STARK: “WINTER IS COMING” – Name your most anticipated book release for 2017.

As a good GoT fan, I should say The Winds of Winter (A Song of Ice and Fire #6), but since it still sans release date, I’ll go with Without Merit by Colleen Hoover because I am absolutely trash for all things CoHo.

HOUSE TARGARYEN: “FIRE AND BLOOD” – Name a book that you felt completely slayed with fantastic characters, plot, pacing, etc.

I’m not sure if this is cheating because it’s the second installment and thus the pacing and characterization was aided by the previous installment, but I’d readily admit that A Court of Mist and Fury by SJM absolutely slayed me – and a majority of the book community too!

HOUSE BARATHEON: “OURS IS THE FURY” – Name a book that ended with a cliffhanger ending that genuinely pissed you off.

Easily Paper Princess by Erin Watt. I remember being in my office when I finished that book and throwing it – literally – across the room because I was so angered by the twist-hanger ending. After compartmentalizing, I rushed to my office computer (I was in the lobby at the time and had to go back to my office) to order the second book from Amazon and saw the horrifying news that I would have to wait MONTHS for the next installment. I repeated this process with book 2. No lessons were learned.

HOUSE MARTELL: “UNBOWED, UNBENT, UNBROKEN” – Name a book, or book series, that’s been on your TBR since the dawn of time.

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. Before you yell, I do have plans to read this next month and have already read the Grisha trilogy earlier this year! As a side note, I’ve been told once I complete this duology it will take the place of every book tag question ever – is that true??

HOUSE BOLTON: “OUR BLADES ARE SHARP” – Name the most graphic or disturbing book that you’ve ever read.

Alex by Pierre Lemaitre/Translated by Frank Wynne. Rated over 4 stars on Goodreads (I say just to prove I’m not alone), this is definitely a page-turner and an intense “whodunnit” crime novel. With that being said, this is also the most squeamish I’ve EVER been while reading a book. There are parts that are downright uncomfortable and not suited for the faint-hearted. I can’t really say more without spoiling it, but if you’re intrigued check it out on Amazon or GR.

HOUSE TYRELL: GROWING STRONG – Name a book, or book series, that gets better and better with every re-read.

If you thought I’d say ANYTHING but Harry Potter, you haven’t been paying attention. J.K. is a freaking genius and her books only get better with each additional re-read.

So there’s my list. Hope you enjoyed and if you want to play along tag me too! I’d love to see your answers! I’m not formally tagging anyone since I’m unsure who’s GoT obsessed too!