Here Lies Daniel Tate

Goodreads/Amazon

Here Lies Daniel Tate

 Title & Author: Here Lies Daniel Tate by Cristin Terrill
Genre: YA Mystery/Thriller
 Release Date: June 6, 2017
 Publisher: Simon & Schuster
 Series Details: Standalone
Description: “When ten-year-old Daniel Tate went missing from one of California’s most elite communities, he left no trace. He simply vanished.
Six years later, when he resurfaces on a snowy street in Vancouver, he’s no longer the same boy. His sandy hair is darker, the freckles are gone, and he’s initially too traumatized to speak, but he’s alive. His overjoyed family brings him home to a world of luxury and comfort he can barely remember. In time, they assure him, he’ll recover his memories; all that matters now is they’re together again.
It’s perfect. A miracle. Except for one thing.
He isn’t Daniel Tate.
He’s a petty con artist who accidentally stumbled into the scam of a lifetime, and he soon learns he’s not the only one in the Tate household with something to hide. The family has as many secrets as they have millions in the bank, and one of them might be ready to kill to keep the worst one buried.”

If you can read that synopsis and pretend you’re not 1000 percent interested in this novel then you’re a better liar than Daniel Tate…

…Or — more accurately — the con artist that’s impersonating him.

“The first question everyone always asks is, what’s your name?”

This simple truth provides a simple start for Terrill’s incredibly addictive and twisted tale of a prematurely jaded impostor who quickly finds himself on the wrong side of the con. The story, told through the eyes of a nameless, unreliable narrator, presents the “facts” in a thoughtful, intricate, and creative fashion, which challenges the reader to constantly doubt whether they’ve been duped.

“I know I said I was going to tell you the truth. But I lied. It’s just what I do. Frankly, you have no one to blame but yourself if you believed me for even a second.”

As someone who usually “ruins the curve” when it comes to plot twists, I wasn’t expecting to be mesmerized by this book or its damaged narrator. And even though I uncovered some of the dirty details – including the big twist, which I won’t reveal for obvious reasons – within the first hundred pages, it didn’t take away from my enjoyment of this electrifying ride. The layering of surprises and reveals coupled with a cast of broken and flawed characters truly hooked me in and didn’t release me until the very last sentence. And let me tell you that last sentence…well, let’s just say you should probably buddy read this one so you have someone to scream with immediately.

Overall…

Whether you call yourself a sleuth or not, I’d highly recommend adding this thrilling read to your summer TBR! As one of my favorite reads of the year, I promise you won’t be disappointed…do you believe me?

Leave a Reply

