Top Ten Tuesday: Most Anticipated Reads For The Second Half of 2019

Top Ten Tuesday #42

Hello, my beloved book nerds!

So I hit y’all with a late post yesterday afternoon, but I’m trying to play around with posting times to see what works best for my readers. Do you guys have any suggestions on the best ways to track that or commentary on when you personally would prefer to see new content hit your readers? Until I find a better system, you’ll probably continue to see sporadic posting times from me.

Since I was pretty wordy yesterday on what was supposed to be a mini post 🙈, I thought I’d keep this brief and dive into our favorite weekly meme!


That’s right, y’all, it’s time for another round of TOP TEN TUESDAY!Hosted by Jana at ThatArtsyReaderGirl, this week’s topic is “Freebie.” As I’ve recently returned to this lovely meme, I decided to dive into a previous week’s topic instead of making up my own “freebie.” I chose to go with the TTT prompt from six weeks ago: Most Anticipated Releases Of The Second Half of 2019. My little twist on the topic will be that I’ve split my list into two sections: 1) The first 5 books will be books I don’t have a copy of, but desperately wish I did; and 2) The last 5 books will be books I’m super freaking lucky (and privileged) to have arcs of and the desire to read ASAP!

Scroll on down to check out my: Top Ten Most Anticipated Reads For The Second Half of 2019!


The 5 Most Anticipated Reads I Don’t Have In My Possession: c1.jpg

1) Frankly In Love by David Yoon

Releases: 09/10/19 ★ Current Rating: 4.26 ★ Number of Ratings: 298

One reason to read? I mean have you seen this book trailer?


2) The Beautiful by Renée Ahdieh

Releases: 10/08/19 ★ Current Rating: 3.77 ★ Number of Ratings: 246

One reason to read? Ahdieh’s powerful prose + New Orleans-based vampires = All the confirmation I need.


3) Ninth House by Leigh Bardugo

Releases: 10/08/19 ★ Current Rating: 4.24 ★ Number of Ratings: 358

One reason to read? Secret societies, y’all. A new adult murder mystery centered on secret societies by Queen Leigh herself.


4) The Queen of Nothing by Holly Black

Releases: 11/19/19 ★ Current Rating: 4.39 ★ Number of Ratings: 491

One reason to read? Much needed answers to TWK‘s wtf ending. Or you know…Cardan in the human realm. There, that’s two reasons. 😜


5) Regretting You by Colleen Hoover

Releases: 12/10/19 ★ Current Rating: 4.13 ★ Number of Ratings: 39

One reason to read? Want a contemporary that will punch you in the gut and have you clutching your Kleenex? Then this is the novel for you. If you’re CoHo trash™️ like myself you’ll understand why that sounds appealing. 😂


The 5 Most Anticipated Reads I Do Have In My Possession: c2.jpg

6) Darkdawn by Jay Kristoff

Releases: 09/03/19 ★ Current Rating: 4.55 ★ Number of Ratings: 277

One reason to read? Because it’s MF Darkdawn!! 🗡️But for real, it’s the concluding chapter of one of the most popular adult (read: not YA) series from a beloved YA author.

Source: Edelweiss


7) The Girl the Sea Gave Back by Adrienne Young

Releases: 09/03/19 ★ Current Rating: 3.80 ★ Number of Ratings: 398

One reason to read? I’m not going to lie that cover alone would make me pick up this book, but my love of Sky in the Deep (Young’s debut) is reason enough for me to check out her next novel.

Source: Edelweiss


8) The Grace Year by Kim Liggett

Releases: 10/08/19 ★ Current Rating: 4.29 ★ Number of Ratings: 749

One reason to read? A lot of people are describing this as The Handmaid’s Tale meets Lord of The Flies. And while I don’t know about that, I do know that multiple trusted sources have claimed this sci-fi dystopian novel is haunting and will leave readers permanently changed.

Source: NetGalley


9) Into the Crooked Place by Alexandra Christo

Releases: 10/08/19 ★ Current Rating: 3.89 ★ Number of Ratings: 61

One reason to read? I fell hard for Christo’s first novel (To Kill a Kingdom), which was full of fantastic worldbuilding and A+ imagery, so it’s understood why I’m hyped for the first book in her newest gangster-themed fantasy duology.

Source: Twitter trade. Thanks, Lacy!


10) A Thousand Fires by Shannon Price

Releases: 11/05/19 ★ Current Rating: 4.42 ★ Number of Ratings: 19

One reason to read? Don’t let that somewhat lackluster cover fool you, because this book’s pitch sounds like the contemporary retelling of my dreams: “…The Outsiders meets The Iliad―that’s perfect for fans of Courtney Summers…” Sign me up. Sign me up, today!

Source: Edelweiss


I know I’m six weeks late to the party, but how did I do? Did you enjoy my most anticipated selections? Did we share any titles from your list?? Have you been fortunate enough to read any of these hyped novels yet? Let me know below!!

And, as always: Happy Reading!

WANT TO FOLLOW ME?

* TWITTER * GOODREADS * BOOKSTAGRAM *

45 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Most Anticipated Reads For The Second Half of 2019

    • Nerd Narration says:

      New Orleans definitely gives the perfect vibes for a story like this! I hope we’re both pleased with the final result! And yay for another fan of The Grace Year. I hope I’m emotionally prepared for that one!

      Like

  1. lydiaschoch says:

    I hope you enjoy all of those books!

    I prefer it when blogs release new posts on weekday mornings. It’s nice when they regularly pick the same day(s) of the week, too, so I can know in advance when to expect the next one.

    My TTT.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sammie @ The Writerly Way says:

    I can’t wait for The Queen of Nothing, too! Though, I have to tell you, I’m not sure the humans are ready for Cardan. Speaking as a human-ish being myself. I’m so jealous that you have Darkdawn! I’m so eager to read the whole series, but I want to marathon read it, so I’m holding off. I’m really looking forward to The Girl The Sea Gave Back, too, especially after loving Sky in the Deep. Great choices!

    Here’s my TTT post.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jessica at Booked J says:

    OKAY, first of all, that gif has me rolling. I will never not laugh at that one, or the other similar ones. It’s become so iconic and it never fails to tug a smile from me. That being said, YES, all of these are necessities!! TASTE! I have an eARC of Into the Crooked Place that I’m itching to get to.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s