Top Ten…ish Tuesday: Book Boyfriends

Top Ten…ish Tuesday #9

Today’s post is brought to you by fangirling. For those that are unfamiliar with the concept:

fangirling

v. 1. the reaction a fangirl has to any mention or sighting of the object of her “affection.” These reactions include shortness of breath, fainting, high-pitched noises, shaking, increase of smirks, endless blog posts, etc.

2. The heart eyes emoji…you know it’s true!

After such an intense start to the week, I’m super jazzed for today’s lighthearted TTT. Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, today’s topic — the perfect blend of frivolous and fun — challenges us to reveal our literary crushes! I believe this is the #swoonfest we didn’t know we needed, and personally, I can’t wait to bond over our love of fictional characters!

So what are we waiting for? Let’s do this! Here’s my list of “Top Ten…ish Book Boyfriends.”


1) Rhysand (ACO-series) Screen Shot 2017-10-03 at 12.42.47 AM

Photo Credit

I’m confident my fae bae will be well represented in today’s topic, so I’ll spare you my reasons for including him! Instead, I’ll go ahead and clue you in on my reaction if he were to marginalize in front of me IRL: 2) Nikolai Lantsov (Grishaverse)

This is obviously not fanart, but I couldn’t find something suitable for my favorite pirate privateer! Nikolai captured my attention from his very first appearance in Siege and Storm, and stole my heart faster than he stole scenes. I’ve yet to encounter a character that can match his wit, but I won’t say it’s impossible. 😉

3) Garrett Graham (The Deal)

So here’s…the deal…this NA contemporary is obviously fictional. However, it’s male lead is an attractive, charismatic, brunette hockey player that gets his start with the Boston Bruins. I was so convinced Elle Kennedy used my real-life hockey hubby for Garrett’s inspiration that I not only tweeted her for confirmation, but also obviously used his photo for this post!

4) Gus (Bright Side & Gus)

If you’ve been following my blog for a bit, you know that Bright Side holds a special place in my heart. And one of the reasons is because of my fondness for the soulful Rock God who taught me how to “Do Epic.” A small blib can’t/won’t do him justice so hopefully this picture of Chris Hemsworth will convince you to read his story! Did it work?

5) James Fraser (Outlander series)

Coming in loud and clear, Jamie! For those of you that haven’t yet committed to the 8 book series, Starz has provided a means — and at least one obvious reason — to get on board the Outlander fanwagon. I was a fan long before the series, but due to it’s suberp casting, I honestly can’t tell you which version I prefer more.

6) So here’s the part of my list where I could easily name 5 additional book crushes.

The problem? They wouldn’t match the love I share for the first 5.

Every alternative I thought of had some kind of flaw: 1) I’d already mentioned a character from their source material, 2) Upon further reflection I realized they were actually kind of a jerk, 3) I’m not so into glittering vampires anymore…

Which is why I’ve decided to save my final spots for future reads. I assume as I continue to read some of the bigger titles on my TBR (AEOR, SoC duology, Lunar Chronicles, etc) that I’ll be happy I saved some room for them!

And that’s why I’m calling this my Top Ten…ish List! Hope you can forgive me and not judge me for taking this so seriously lol!


That’s my Top Ten…ish List for the week! Did we share any faves? Did any of my list pique your interest? Who should I know about to add to my TBR?  Who’s YOUR book boo? I look forward to your thoughts!

And, as always: Happy Reading!

51 thoughts on “Top Ten…ish Tuesday: Book Boyfriends

      • karenjo46 says:

        I fall in love too easily haha but here are some of my favorites. Aside from James… Dean from Hopeless, Day from Legend series, Cam from Wait for You, Warner from Shatter Me Series, Peter K from To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, and Prince Maxon from the Selection series. I need to catch up on a lot of series so I can collect more =)

        Liked by 1 person

      • Nerd Narration says:

        See I discovered CoHo late in the game so I binged all her books in like a 3 week period. I need to go back and reread them and see, which ones truly stand out. I contemplated using Atlas (It Ends With Us) or Will (Slammed), but I couldn’t remember concrete details as to why like I could with the others on my list. I also thought of Maxon because I personally was a fan of The first 3 Selection novels.

        Liked by 1 person

      • karenjo46 says:

        I’ve only read like 3 of CoHo’s books. They’re pretty heavy and even though I LOVE her writing, I always need a breather after. I’m a very emotional reader… well actually I just am haha. So after ugly crying with her book, I need a happy one. I do have her other books, so I’m hoping to read them soon too. If I could just read every day, I think I would seriously make a dent in my TBR haha.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Nerd Narration says:

        I think Hopeless (Dean’s book) is personally her heaviest. That one still gets me. I can vividly remember where I was when I had to actually set it down because it was too much of a gut punch for a second.

        Liked by 1 person

    • Nerd Narration says:

      Thanks, girl! If I wasn’t so embarrassed by how seriously I took this I would have included a picture of my list! It had the obvi top 5 and then like 5-8 other names listed with question marks and reasons why they weren’t true book bf material lol! If you end up doing this, I look forward to your selective choices! =D

      Liked by 1 person

  1. readingwithjessica says:

    Nikolai!!! Soooo gorgeous!! I can’t believe I forgot him in my list, UGH!! That photo of Garrett!! GASP!!! Makes me want to read his book again. I haven’t read Bright Side but my friends GUSH about it!! Great list!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment